Thu 18 Mar 1982, 7.30pm, Sadler's Wells Theatre, London

Lonely Town, Lonely Street

Choreographer: Robert North
Recording artist: Bill Withers
Composer: Bill Withers
Music note: Danced to recorded music


Dancer Lucy Burge
Dancer Robert North
Dancer Quinny Sacks
Dancer Hugh Craig
Dancer Kathy Chard
Dancer Guy Detot
Dancer Mary Evelyn


Choreographer: Paul Taylor
Composer: George Frideric Handel
Premiere type: Rambert premiere


1st Movement The Company
2nd Movement Catherine Becque
2nd Movement Michael Ho
2nd Movement Diane Walker
2nd Movement Robert North
2nd Movement Cathrine Price
2nd Movement Hugh Craig
3rd Movement Lucy Burge
4th Movement Catherine Becque
4th Movement Michael Ho
5th Movement Cathrine Price
5th Movement Full Company
6th & 7th Movements Diane Walker
6th & 7th Movements Robert North
8th Movement Full Company
9th Movement Lucy Burge
9th Movement Full Company
Conductor Nicholas Carr
Flute Michael Taylor
Oboe Quentin Poole
Oboe Nigel Treherne
Bassoon Michael Cole
Harpsicord Continuo Christopher Swithinbank
Violin Ann Hooley
Violin Alison Townley
Violin Andrew Sherwood
Violin Jenny Framingham
Violin Bridget Proctor
Violin Alison Beatty
Violin David Lyon
Viola James Shenton
Viola Griff Owen
Viola Stephen Gorringe
Cello Anthony Hinnigan
Cello Philip Trzebiatowski
Double Bass Lynda Houghton

Ghost Dances

Choreographer: Christopher Bruce
Composer: Ernesto Cavour, Atahualpa Yupanqui


Ghost Dancer Albert van Nierop
Ghost Dancer Michael Ho
Ghost Dancer Robert North
The Dead Kathy Chard
The Dead Rebecca Ham
The Dead Lucy Bethune
The Dead Cathrine Price
The Dead Catherine Becque
The Dead Hugh Craig
The Dead Jkky Maas
The Dead Guy Detot
Conductor Nicholas Carr
Sikus (panpipes) Michael Taylor
Quena (end-blown reed flute) Christopher Swithinbank
Charango (small guitar) Simon Rogers
Guitar Forbes Henderson
Bass Guitar Anthony Hinnigan
Percussion Andrew Tyrrell
Source: Programme, publicity materials, and stage manager's report for 18 March 1982 (evening) in the Rambert Archive
Made by Palace