Mon 1 Jun 1959, 7.30pm, Sadler's Wells Theatre, London


Choreographer: Kenneth MacMillan
Composer: Frank Martin


The Mask Seller Carolyn Fey
Mother Pierrot Anna Truscott
Father Pierrot Christopher Lyall
Laiderette, their daughter Lucette Aldous
The Host John Chesworth
Guest Valerie Marsh
Guest Thelma Litster
Guest Elsa Recagno
Guest Norman Morrice
Guest Kenneth Bannerman
Guest John Benfield
Pierrot Jennifer Dodd
Pierrot Sylvia Singleton
Pierrot Jennifer Kelly
Pierrot Sandra Short
Pierrot Rachel Holland
Conductor David Ellenberg
Violin (Leader) Penelope Howard
Harp Tryphena Partridge
Piano Cyril Preedy
Harpsichord Joan Barker


Choreographer: Frank Staff
Composer: Karl Czerny


Fugue Ensemble
Se Habla Espagnol John Chesworth
Ebats June Sandbrook
Ebats Shirley Dixon
Ebats Jennifer Dodd
Ebats Jennifer Kelly
M'as-tu vue! Lucette Aldous
Nuages John Chesworth
Nuages Jennifer Kelly
Visions Elsa Recagno
Visions Norman Morrice
Visions John Benfield
Pas de Trois Thelma Litster
Pas de Trois Jennifer Dodd
Pas de Trois John O'Brien
Variation Partagée Kenneth Bannerman
Variation Partagée Christopher Lyall
Presque Classique Elsa Recagno
Trop Symphonique John Chesworth
Trop Symphonique Ensemble
Belle Somnolente Thelma Litster
Belle Somnolente Elsa Recagno
Final Ensemble
Piano Cyril Preedy
Performance note: Revival performance

La Reja

Choreographer: John Cranko
Composer: Domenico Scarlatti
Premiere type: World premiere


The Dancers:
The Girl in Pink Lucette Aldous
The Girl in Red Gillian Martlew
The Girl in Black Beryl Goldwyn
Dancer June Sandbrook
Dancer Elsa Recagno
Dancer Thelma Litster
Dancer Shirley Dixon
Dancer Jennifer Kelly
Dancer Jennifer Dodd
Dancer John Chesworth
Dancer Kenneth Bannerman
Dancer Christopher Lyall
The Crone Valerie Marsh
Aristocrat Anna Truscott
Aristocrat Carolyn Fey
Aristocrat Sylvia Singleton
Aristocrat Irene Siegfried
Aristocrat Rachel Holland
Aristocrat Sandra Short
Aristocrat John Benfield
Aristocrat John O'Brien
Aristocrat Gordon Yeats
Harpsichord Joan Barker


Choreographer: Norman Morrice
Composer: Carlos Surinach


The Husband John Chesworth
His Wife Gillian Martlew
Their Daughter June Sandbrook
Foreman Christopher Lyall
His Wife Anna Truscott
Labourer Elsa Recagno
Labourer Carolyn Fey
Labourer Sandra Short
Labourer Sylvia Singleton
Labourer Rachel Holland
Labourer Kenneth Bannerman
Labourer John Benfield
Labourer John O'Brien
The Local Priest Norman Morrice
Conductor David Ellenberg
Violin (Leader) Penelope Howard
Source: Programme for 1 June 1959 (evening) in the Rambert Archive
Made by Palace